Quorum Court


The legislative body of county government is called the quorum court and is composed of 9, 11, 13 or 15 members depending on the population of the county. Cross County has 9 members. The quorum court members are called justices of the peace and are elected for 2 year terms from districts within the county.

These districts officials meet each month, more often if necessary, to conduct county business and review ordinances and resolutions for passage. Cross County Quorum Court meets the third Monday Night of each month at the Cross County Courthouse. The county judge is the presiding officer over the quorum court without a vote, but with the power of veto. This veto can be overridden with a 3/5ths vote of the total membership of the quorum court (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

As provided by Amendment No. 55 of the Arkansas Constitution, a county government acting through its quorum court may exercise local legislation authority not expressly prohibited by the constitution or by law for the affairs of the county. (A.C.A. 14-14-801). Some limitations are: the quorum court cannot declare any act a felony (felonies are covered by the State Criminal Code); quorum courts may exercise no authority unrelated to county affairs (A.C.A. 14-14-806). The quorum court may exercise the following powers, but not limited to: (A) the levy of taxes in manner prescribed by law; (B) appropriate public funds for the expenses of the county in a manner prescribed by ordinance; (C) preserve the peace and order and secure freedom from dangerous or noxious activities; provided, however, that no act may be declared a felony; (D) for any public purpose, contract, or join with another county, or with any political subdivision or with the United States; (E) create, consolidate, separate, revise, or abandon any elected office or offices except during the term thereof; provided, however, that a majority of those voting on the question at a general election have approved said action; (F) fix the number and compensation of deputies and county employees; (G) fix the compensation of each county officer with a minimum and maximum to be determined by law; (H) fill vacancies in elected county offices; (I) provide for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs; (J) to exercise other powers, not inconsistent with law, necessary for effective administration of authorized services and function (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

2017 Quorum Court Members

District # 1 JP Doug Kennon  449 Highway 49, McCrory, AR 72101 Telephone: 870-588-5715

District # 2 JP Rickey Lace 3280 Hwy 42, Cherry Valley AR 72324 Phone 870-588-6888

District # 3 JP Lynn Blake 22 CR 382 Home: 870-238-3330 Cell: 870-208-5301

District # 4 JP Glenda Vance 77 CR 7910, Colt AR 72326 Cell: 870-318-5311

District # 5 JP Gloria Aldridge 1046 MLK, Wynne AR 72396 Cell:870-362-4649

District # 6 JP Gary Eakin 705 Mockingbird Lane, Wynne AR Cell: 870-208-5196 

District # 7 JP Carl Loewer 2 Galway Dr. Wynne, AR 72396 Cell: 870-588-1789

District # 8 JP Jerry Brewster 206 Maple Drive, Wynne, AR 72396 870-318-5361 

District # 9  JP James Davis 147 CR 427 Parkin AR 72373 Home: 870-208-3615

Secretary to Quorum Court Melanie Winkler County and Probate Clerk 705 East Union, Room 18 Wynne AR 72396 870-238-5735


Doug Kennon.png
Doug Kennon
JP District 1

Ricky Lace.png
Ricky Lace
JP District 2

Lynn Blake.png
Lynn Blake
JP District 3




Glenda Vance
JP District 4

Gloria Aldridge.jpg
Gloria  Aldridge
JP District 5

Gary Eakin.jpg
 Gary Eakin
JP District 6

carl loewer.jpg
Carl Loewer
JP District 7

Jerry Brewster.png
Jerry Brewster
JP District 8

James Davis.png
James Davis
JP District 9



Crime Tip Hotline
Submit Via Email