Quorum Court


The legislative body of county government is called the quorum court and is composed of 9, 11, 13 or 15 members depending on the population of the county. Cross County has 9 members. The quorum court members are called justices of the peace and are elected for 2 year terms from districts within the county.

These districts officials meet each month, more often if necessary, to conduct county business and review ordinances and resolutions for passage. Cross County Quorum Court meets the third Monday Night of each month at the Cross County Courthouse. The county judge is the presiding officer over the quorum court without a vote, but with the power of veto. This veto can be overridden with a 3/5ths vote of the total membership of the quorum court (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

As provided by Amendment No. 55 of the Arkansas Constitution, a county government acting through its quorum court may exercise local legislation authority not expressly prohibited by the constitution or by law for the affairs of the county. (A.C.A. 14-14-801). Some limitations are: the quorum court cannot declare any act a felony (felonies are covered by the State Criminal Code); quorum courts may exercise no authority unrelated to county affairs (A.C.A. 14-14-806). The quorum court may exercise the following powers, but not limited to: (A) the levy of taxes in manner prescribed by law; (B) appropriate public funds for the expenses of the county in a manner prescribed by ordinance; (C) preserve the peace and order and secure freedom from dangerous or noxious activities; provided, however, that no act may be declared a felony; (D) for any public purpose, contract, or join with another county, or with any political subdivision or with the United States; (E) create, consolidate, separate, revise, or abandon any elected office or offices except during the term thereof; provided, however, that a majority of those voting on the question at a general election have approved said action; (F) fix the number and compensation of deputies and county employees; (G) fix the compensation of each county officer with a minimum and maximum to be determined by law; (H) fill vacancies in elected county offices; (I) provide for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs; (J) to exercise other powers, not inconsistent with law, necessary for effective administration of authorized services and function (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

2009-2010 Quorum Court Members

District # 1 JP Doug Kennon  449 Highway 49, McCrory, AR 72101 Telephone: 870-588-5715

District # 2 JP Rickey Lace 3280 Hwy 42, Cherry Valley AR 72324 Phone 870-588-6888

District # 3 JP Lynn Blake 22 CR 382 Home: 870-238-3330 Cell: 870-208-5301

District # 4 Donna Willis 7 CR 6530 Wynne, AR 72396 870-208-6601

District # 5 JP Bedford Tuberville 719 "J " Street Wynne AR 72396 Home: 870-238-9506 Cell: 870-318-0088

District # 6 Kevin Jumoer 520 Cogbill Avenue, Wynne AR 72396  

District # 7 JP Sharon Lawson 2003 Airpark Road, Wynne AR 72396 870-238-9123

District # 8 JP Jerry Brewster 206 Maple Drive, Wynne, AR 72396 870-318-5361 

District # 9 James Davis 147 CR 427 Parkin AR 72373 Home: 870-755-5604

Secretary to Quorum Court Melanie Winkler County and Probate Clerk 705 East Union, Room 18 Wynne AR 72396 870-238-5735


Doug Kennon
District 1

Ricky Lace
JP District  2 

Lynn Blake
JP District 3




Donna Willis
JP District 4

Bedford Tuberville
JP District 5




Kevin Jumper
 JP District 6



Sharon Lawson
JP District 7




Jerry Brewster
JP District 8

James Davis
JP District 9

Crime Tip Hotline
Submit Via Email